fbpx

New Jersey DUI Sentencing: The 10-Year Step Down

New Jersey’s DUI Statute, 39:4-50(a)(3) provides a certain measure of relief to a multiple offender who goes more than 10 years between DUI offenses. Where a second offense occurs more than 10 years after a first offense, the sentencing court is required to treat the second conviction as a first offense for sentencing purposes. If a defendant commits a third offense more than 10 years after a second offense, the court is required to treat the third offense as a second offense for sentencing purposes. The relevant date for all of these sentencing decisions is the date of the offense as opposed to the date of the conviction.

DUI convictions can result in harsh penalties, including jail time, license suspension, installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and significant fines. If you or someone you know is facing a drunk driving or refusal charge, The Reinartz Law Firm can help.